Cub Scouts Program Home Page
Cub Scout Home Page

ScoutingBSA Home
Return to the ScoutingBSA Home Page

Choose Item:

Arrow of Light

Activity Pins

Webelos Super Achiever
Conservation Award
Compass Points
Arrow of Light

Belt Loops

Belt Loops

Adult Awards


View a large image of this patch

The Quality Unit Awards are one of a series of ways that the BSA tries to recognize units and individuals within those units that have strong, quality programs.

Background and History

The Quality Unit Program was first introduced in 1986.   The Quality Unit program is an effort to recognize units that have met specific  requirements established on a charter year basis.

The ten categories for the unit-level award -- six of which would quality a unit for this award -- are listed below.   Four noted categories are required.  These requirements can change every two years to reflect current programming.

Packs that meet or surpassed their unit goals receive a special flag streamer and have permission to purchase uniform emblems to be worn below the Den medallion, on the right sleeve,  as a permanent award.

In 1990, the BSA revised the Quality Unit program to only allow the most recently earned quality unit award to be worn.   This eliminated shirt sleeves that had lots of these patches.  Scouts and their leaders had tended to wear all of the Honor/Quality Unit emblems that their unit has earned since "the start of time".

The Requirements (* items required)

  1. *Training: The Cubmaster and at least 50% of the Den Leaders will complete Cub Scout Leader Fast Start Training and Leader Basic Training for their position
  2. *Two-Deep Leadership: A Pack will have one or more assistant Cubmasters registered, trained, and active.  One registered adult is assigned responsibility for Youth Protection training.
  3. *Outdoor Activities: The Pack will participate in one or more of the following experiences:  Cub Scout Day Camp, resident camp, family camp, Webelos Den overnighter(s), and/or other activities conducted or approved by the Viking Council.
  4. *On-Time Charter Renewal: The Pack will complete its charter renewal before its current charter expires
  5. Pack Meetings: A Pack will hold a minimum of nine pack meetings per year, and the Pack will earn the National Summertime Pack Award.
  6. Tiger Cubs: There will be one or more Tiger Cub Dens in the Pack.
  7. Service Project: The Pack will conduct a service project annually, preferably for the chartered organization or community.
  8. Advancement: Seventy percent or more of the Scouts will advance a rank, or the Pack will have a ten percent increase in total rank advancement over a year ago.  Approved ranks for this recognition include Bobcat, Wolf, Bear, Webelos and Arrow of Light.
  9. Boy's Life: A subscription to Boy's Life will go into the homes of all our Pack members, or the Pack will achieve a ten percent increase over a year ago.
  10. Membership: The Pack will renew its charter with an equal or greater number of youth registered over a year ago.

Get the Quality Unit Application

The web site is a legacy site of the Viking Council BSA, now Northern Star Council.  
This site was the original council site and was active from 1996 to 2002 and run by volunteers.  As the web became more important to Scouting, the council took over with paid staff.  This site is no longer maintained but is an interesting snapshot of an early Scouting web site.    You can share your comments
using our on-line form or send a message to the Webmaster.   Thank you for visiting!


Return to Previous Page

Privacy Statement and Disclaimer

Return Forward

Last Update May 15, 2023