ScoutingBSA Table of Contents

ScoutingBSA Home
Return to the ScoutingBSA Home Page


African Methodist
African Methodist
   Episcopal Zion
Armenian Church
Armenian Apostolic
Assn. Unity Churches
Christian Church
Christian Science
Church of Christ
Eastern Catholic
Eastern Orthodox
New Jerusalem
Latter Day Saints

Meher Baba
Polish Natl. Catholic
Reorganized LDS
Roman Catholic
Salvation Army
United Methodist

United Church Christ

Religious Awards
BSA Knot Awards

Other BSA Awards


The Viking Council Catholic Committee on Scouting (VCCCS) is a committee of concerned Catholic laity and clergy working to help scout youth in their quest to fulfill the 12th point of the Scout Law - A Scout is Reverent.    This committee works with the National Conference of Catholic Bishops and reports to the Archdiocesan Catholic Committee on Scouting.  The Committee is here to support adult leaders and youth in the encouragement of the Boy Scouts of America as a viable form of youth ministry within the Catholic Church. 

The committee works to train adult leaders as counselors for Catholic religious emblems for Cub Scouts, Boy Scouts, Venture Scouts and Girl Scouts.  The committee also assists and encourages youth to take part in the various religious emblem programs made available through the Boy Scouts and Girl Scouts of America.

This committee meets on a monthly basis, generally the third Wednesday of each month.  The committee encourages Scout leaders to attend the meetings when possible to understand the role of the committee, but more importantly to understand how this committee can help the packs and troops to have a more enriched scouting program through the use of the religious emblem program.  While this committee focuses on the Catholic program, there are also Protestant, Jewish as well as other faith committees that can assist in your Scouting programs.  If you have questions, please feel free to contact the Council office for more information.

What is a Religious Emblem Program?   It is a church program which recognizes Cub Scouts, Boy Scouts, Venturers and Girl Scouts who do additional study and work for their faith.  The programs are similar to earning an achievement or merit badge.  The Boy Scouts of America officially recognizes the scout who completes the program of his Faith.  Every scout will be proud to achieve this high honor.  A scout will be awarded an emblem of their faith from their Church or Archdiocesan committee.  The Boy Scout program also honors these scouts through the religious knot that a Scout can wear on his uniform.

How Do Scouts Start Earning Their Emblem?  Every faith has a program.

  • Step one :  Obtain the study book from the local Scout Shop.  Some books must be special ordered.
  • Step two:  Scout and parent visit the religious leader of their church, temple, or place of worship and review the workbook.
  • Step three :  Begin study as directed in the workbook and with the approval of the religious leader.
  • Step four :  When the workbook is completed, award the emblem as suggested in the workbook.
  • Step five :  Encourage other Scouts to earn their emblem.

The web site is a legacy site of the Viking Council BSA, now Northern Star Council.  
This site was the original council site and was active from 1996 to 2002 and run by volunteers.  As the web became more important to Scouting, the council took over with paid staff.  This site is no longer maintained but is an interesting snapshot of an early Scouting web site.    You can share your comments
using our on-line form or send a message to the Webmaster.   Thank you for visiting!


Return to Previous Page

Privacy Statement and Disclaimer

Return Forward

Last Update May 15, 2023