ScoutingBSA Table of Contents

ScoutingBSA Home
Return to the ScoutingBSA Home Page


African Methodist
African Methodist
   Episcopal Zion
Armenian Church
Armenian Apostolic
Assn. Unity Churches
Christian Church
Christian Science
Church of Christ
Eastern Catholic
Eastern Orthodox
New Jerusalem
Latter Day Saints

Meher Baba
Polish Natl. Catholic
Reorganized LDS
Roman Catholic
Salvation Army
United Methodist

United Church Christ

Religious Awards
BSA Knot Awards

Other BSA Awards


Pope Paul VI National Unit Recognition

Purpose: to promote Catholic Membership and

  • Recognize the Charter Organization,
  • motivate and improve the effectiveness of the individual unit and its adult leadership and
  • to provide each youth with a top-quality program which encompasses the religious, vocational, and educational aspects of Scouting under Catholic auspices.

Recognitions include:

  • A multi-colored certificate bearing the coat of arms of Pope Paul VI and the signature of the Bishop (for the Chartered Organization)
  • A multi-colored embroidered patch bearing the coat of arms of Pope Paul VI with year segments (for each registered member, youth and adult)
  • A papal colored ribbon bearing the coat of arms of Pope Paul VI for the unit's standard (for the unit)

Each unit of a chartered organization may earn this recognition on its own merit for a particular calendar year and may re-earn it for succeeding years providing the yearly requirements are met. This recognition can be obtained once each year. Each January, eligible units should submit their certification as required.

Requirements (briefly) include:

  • Unit must be chartered to a Catholic parish, school, Knights of Columbus council, etc.
  • Unit leader who completed leader basic training (including Youth Protection)
  • A trained Religion Emblems counselor
  • Two-deep leadership
  • One leader who completed "Scouter Development"
  • A unit service project
  • Spiritual growth including a religious emblems program
  • Unit participation in a religious activity
  • A Vocational awareness program
  • One person serving with the local Catholic Committee on Scouting
  • A plan to increase unit membership

Golden Bow Achievement

The National Catholic Committee on Scouting (NCCS) is in the midst of a National Catholic Membership Initiative which is a joint emphasis of the NCCS and the Boy Scouts of America. This program has four major goals:

  • Organize more units in Catholic parishes and schools
  • A significant growth in Catholic youth Scout membership
  • A strong emphasis on role model adult leadership
  • A quality Scout program for all Catholic youth

A set of Golden Bow recognitions is available for units and leadership working to meet these goals and increse the availability of Scouting to Catholic youth:

  • A Golden Bow certificate can be presented at the discretion of (Arch)diocesan committees to adult leaders and committee members who have made a commitment to the Membership Initiative.
  • A Golden Bow Achievement patch can be presented by unit leaders to Scouts who recruit a new member to their unit.
  • A unit Membership Initiative Streamer can be presented by (Arch)diocesan committees to units increasing their membership by more than 10% (or a minimum or three new members).


The web site is a legacy site of the Viking Council BSA, now Northern Star Council.  
This site was the original council site and was active from 1996 to 2002 and run by volunteers.  As the web became more important to Scouting, the council took over with paid staff.  This site is no longer maintained but is an interesting snapshot of an early Scouting web site.    You can share your comments
using our on-line form or send a message to the Webmaster.   Thank you for visiting!


Return to Previous Page

Privacy Statement and Disclaimer

Return Forward

Last Update May 15, 2023