Boy Scout Home Page

Boy Scout Home Page

ScoutingBSA Home
Return to the ScoutingBSA Home Page

Knot Awards

Youth Achievement
Arrow of Light
Hornaday Award
Eagle Scout
Explorer Award

Leadership Awards
Cub Scouter Award
Cubmaster Award
Den Leader Coach
Webelos Den Leader
Den Leader Award
Tiger Organizer
Scouter Training
Scouters Key
SM Award of Merit
Sea Badge
Professional Training


Bravery Awards

Honor Medal
Heroism Award
Medal of Merit

Honor  Awards

George Meany
Whitney Young Jr.
Wm. H. Spurgeon
O.A.  Service Award
        Arrowhead Honor

Commissioner Svc.
District Merit
Silver Beaver
Silver Antelope
Silver Buffalo
Silver World
James E. West
Daniel Carter Beard


Background Information

Shortly after the National Eagle Scout Association was established in 1972, it established a NESA Scoutmaster Award. The award was presented to one Scoutmaster per BSA area each year. These Scoutmasters' records demonstrated proper use of Boy Scout advancement, and a significant number of their Boy Scouts attained the Eagle Scout rank. This award was discontinued on December 31, 1987.

The President of the Boy Scouts of America requested that NESA convert its award into a Scoutmaster Award of Merit which could be earned by all Scoutmasters. The rationale was that there is a need for recognizing a man relatively early in his work as a Scoutmaster, prior to his qualifying for the Scouter's Key.


The nominee need not be an Eagle Scout but must:

  1. Be a currently registered Scoutmaster who has served in that position for at least 18 months
  2. Have achieved the Quality Unit Award at least once during his period of service
  3. Have completed Boy Scout Leader Fast Start and Scoutmastership Fundamentals or equivalent
  4. Have a record of proper use of the Boy Scout advancement program, resulting in a majority of his Boy Scouts attaining the First Class rank
  5. Have a record of
    • Development of boy leadership through the patrol method
    • Positive relations with the troop's chartered organization
    • An extensive outdoor program including strong summer camp attendance
    • A positive image of Scouting in the community
    • A troop operation that attracts and retains Boy Scouts

Procedure for Award

The chairman of the troop committee has the responsibility of nominating the Scoutmaster on behalf of the patrol leaders' council and the troop committee.

The nomination is certified by the unit commissioner and forwarded to the local council service center.

Approval authority lies with the Scout executive and either the council NESA chairman or the council commissioner.

The Scout executive will forward the nomination to the director of the National Eagle Scout Association at the national office. The nomination should be approved by the Scout executive and either the council NESA chairman or the council commissioner.

The Award

A full-color certificate will be provided by NESA free of charge. A hand lettered certificate with the recipient's name is available.

The National Eagle Scout Association will send the certificates to the Scout executive via mail. 

A full-color, 6-inch, jacket patch and a square knot (white on tan) for the uniform is available through the Supply Division.


The award may be presented at an appropriate chartered organization or unit function with acknowledgment at a district or council event or at a district or council recognition event.

redball.gif (967 bytes) Nomination Form

redball.gif (967 bytes) Return to the top of the page


The web site is a legacy site of the Viking Council BSA, now Northern Star Council.  
This site was the original council site and was active from 1996 to 2002 and run by volunteers.  As the web became more important to Scouting, the council took over with paid staff.  This site is no longer maintained but is an interesting snapshot of an early Scouting web site.    You can share your comments
using our on-line form or send a message to the Webmaster.   Thank you for visiting!


Return to Previous Page

Privacy Statement and Disclaimer

Return Forward

Last Update May 15, 2023